Service Safari: Pharmaca and the Monterey Public Library

My Service Safari is about two recent visits to public places.  One retail store, Pharmaca, and the other my local library, the Monterey Public Library.

I went to my local Pharmaca recently to pickup a prescription.  The visit went fairly well: although it wasn’t as quick as the pharmacy technician estimated it would be, it was still pretty good considering that the prescription had just been faxed over earlier that day.  I was told that my prescription would be available in 10 minutes, it ended up being available in 15 minutes.  Not a bad wait.

I am a fairly regular shopper at Pharmaca.  The store is clean, the employees are pleasant, and the inventory is arranged in a way that makes things fairly easy to find.  One nice thing about shopping there is that it’s not just the Pharmacist who has specialized knowledge there.  The people who ring up orders aren’t just cashiers, they’re Estheticians, Naturopathic Doctors, etc.

Ultimately, the only downside to this particular visit to Pharmaca was the extra 5 minute wait over what I was told the wait time would be.  Since it was a brand new prescription, that’s still not a bad wait time, 15 minutes seems to be a fairly standard amount of time for prescription drugs to be prepared.

The second Service Safari is a recent Reference Transaction I had with the Monterey Public Library.  I was trying to look up an address in Palo Alto, but I wasn’t sure what county it was in, and the phone books are organized by County, not City, so I needed to know this in order to look up said address.

So I asked the librarian on the desk if she could look up what county Palo Alto is in.  She did, and explained that it’s in Santa Clara, which is what I had suspected, but I wasn’t sure.  The wait was short, the answer was accurate, and the interactions were pleasant, so I was happy with how it went.

All in all, the reference transaction went fairly smoothly, I was happy with the answer she gave me.  It enabled me to look up the information I was looking for in the library’s Santa Clara phone book.  This is one useful aspect of libraries beyond just the typical books, they (or at least the two libraries I’ve been to in California) typically have phone books for all the counties in the state.  It’s handy when you need to look something up in another part of the state, for example: one common example of that is if you’re thinking of moving and want to look places up in the new city that you will be living in.